Jump to Navigation

Records from Cowley County

Creator: Cowley County (Kan.)

Date: 1879 - 1981

Level of Description: Coll./Record Group

Material Type: Government record

Call Number: Unavailable

Unit ID: 216667

Abstract: This collection contains the records of Cowley County. The bulk of the records document the county's public schools during the mid-twentieth century, particularly school district unification, teacher certification, and school finance. Records include correspondence, memoranda, budgets, account books, unification reports, and school evaluation reports. Many of the records were created by county Superintendent for Public Instruction Walter Bynum. Also include are marriage license applications from the county probate court.

Space Required/Quantity: Circa 6.5 cubic feet.

Title (Main title): Records from Cowley County

Administrative History

Administrative History: Cowley County was established on February 26, 1867 and organized on February 28, 1870. It was named in memory of 1st Lt. Matthew Cowley of Co. I, Ninth Kansas Cavalry, who died on active duty in Little Rock, Arkansas, on 7 Oct 1864. The county seat and largest city is Winfield. Arkansas City is the second largest city. Townships include Beaver, Bolton, Cedar, Creswell, Dexter, Fairview, Grant, Harvey, Liberty, Maple, Ninnescah, Omnia, Otter, Pleasant Valley, Richland, Rock Creek, Salem, Sheridan, Silver Creek, Silverdale, Spring Creek, Tisdale, Vernon, Walnut, and Windsor.

[Kansas State Historical Society. "Kansas Counties - Cowley County, Kansas." http://www.kshs.org/genealogists/places/counties.php?county=CL (accessed June 5, 2009.)]


No Locators Identified

Index Terms


    Cowley County (Kan.) -- History
    Marriage licenses -- Kansas -- Cowley County
    School districts -- Kansas -- Cowley County
    Schools -- Kansas -- Cowley County -- Records and correspondence
    School superintendents -- Kansas -- Cowley County

Creators and Contributors

Agency Classification:

    Local Government Agencies. Cowley County.