Jump to Navigation

Kansas Post Offices, 1828-1961

Results of Query:

Post Office: All post offices
County: Geary

Page 1 of 1 showing 27 records of 27 total, starting on record 1

Post Office County Established Discontinued Notes
Acme  Geary  1885-01-08  1891-12-31  Name change from Milford Depot. Established in Davis County.  
Alida  Geary  1870-06-13  1939-04-15  Established in Davis County.  
Ashland  Geary  1855-12-29  1868-04-01  Established in Davis County.  
Batcheller  Geary  1862-06-23  1868-02-03  Name change to Milford. Established in Riley County.  
Briggs  Geary  1879-09-04  1901-06-29  Established in Davis County.  
Cedar Grove  Geary  1858-08-05  1858-11-01  Established in Davis County.  
Church  Geary  1899-02-20  1904-03-31   
Conroton  Geary  1882-03-13  1883-01-31  Established in Davis County.  
Fort Riley  Geary    Open in 1961  [Re-opened after 1961]  
Fort Riley  Geary  1855-12-20  1917-05-31  Moved from Pawnee. Established in Davis County.  
Grant  Geary  1864-03-23  1867-05-28  Established in Davis County.  
Junction City  Geary  1858-06-30  Open in 1961  Established in Riley County. Was also in Davis County for a time.  
Kansas Falls  Geary  1857-11-20  1860-09-29  Established in Riley County. Was also in Davis County for a time.  
Kenton  Geary  1856-07-05  1867-05-28  Established in Davis County.  
Lyonsdale  Geary  1903-12-04  1907-06-15   
Milford  Geary  1868-02-03  Open in 1961  Name change from Batcheller. Established in Riley County. Was also in Davis County for a time.  
Milford Depot  Geary  1883-07-09  1885-01-08  Name change to Acme. Established in Davis County.  
Moss Springs  Geary  1872-11-12  1895-05-15  Established in Davis County.  
Pawnee  Geary  1855-03-03  1855-12-20  Moved to Fort Riley. Established in Davis County.  
Riley City  Geary  1856-08-08  1862-12-02  Moved to West Point. Established in Davis County.  
Way  Geary  1880-02-09  1882-03-31  Established in Davis County.  
Welcome  Geary  1887-01-18  1902-02-28  Established in Davis County.  
Westgate  Geary  1884-01-07  1901-06-29  Established in Davis County.  
Weston  Geary  1894-11-14  1904-04-14   
Weston  Geary  1874-08-12  1894-09-29  Established in Davis County.  
West Point  Geary  1862-12-02  1865-09-12  Moved from Riley City. Established in Davis County.  
Wreford  Geary  1882-11-23  1918-04-15  Established in Davis County.  

The Kansas Post Offices Database contains information taken from Robert W. Baughman's Kansas Post Offices, May 29, 1828-August 3, 1961, published by the Kansas Postal History Society, an affiliate of the Kansas Historical Society. It includes every known Kansas post office with its dates of operation. These dates can indicate approximately when the town was established and in some cases, when it disappeared.

The name and boundaries of some Kansas counties were still changing up to 1893. If the county where the post office was located changed, or if the town changed its name, this is noted in the "notes" field and you will need to search on the earlier or later names for additional information. If a post office was originally in Kansas Territory but became part of the new Colorado Territory on Feb. 28, 1861, the information given here ends with that date.

The information in the database is current through 3 August 1961. Post office openings, closings, and name changes since that date are currently being researched for addition to the database.

KSHS volunteers Bill and Diana Sowers, Joan Stevenson, and Louis Reed transcribed the information for this database. Melvin Bruntzel researched post-1961 changes.

New Search of Kansas Post Offices
Kansas Place Names Index Main Page