Jump to Navigation

Kansas Post Offices, 1828-1961

Results of Query:

Post Office: All post offices
County: Seward

Page 1 of 1 showing 26 records of 26 total, starting on record 1

Post Office County Established Discontinued Notes
Adobe  Seward  1880-04-14  1883-01-05   
Arkalon  Seward  1888-05-07  1929-11-15   
Barcross  Seward  1898-09-20  1901-10-15  Site moved from Tyrone, Okla.  
Brandley  Morton  1885-10-23  1886-01-21  Moved to Richfield. Established in Seward County.  
Ethelton  Seward  1907-07-31  1914-03-15   
Fargo  Seward  1906-03-13  1912-12-31   
Fargo Springs  Seward  1885-12-22  1888-06-15  Name change from Harwoodville.  
Fringer  Meade  1881-11-02  1883-11-02  Was also in Seward County for a time.  
Harwoodville  Seward  1885-07-27  1885-12-22  Name change to Fargo Springs.  
Hayne  Seward  1908-05-28  1925-09-20   
Kismet  Seward  1888-11-14  1890-09-30   
Kismet  Seward  1908-02-05  Open in 1961   
La Grand  Seward  1885-12-31  1887-11-28  Name change to Springfield.  
Liberal  Seward  1886-06-14  Open in 1961   
Loco  Seward  1901-03-02  1910-08-13   
Mabel  Seward  1888-10-19  1891-06-30   
McCoy  Seward  1883-06-18  1885-07-28   
Oak  Seward  1887-05-14  1888-07-10  Moved to Tyrone.  
Obern  Seward  1908-03-05  1913-11-15   
Odee  Meade  1881-06-01  1909-07-31  Was also in Seward County for a time.  
Rainbelt  Meade  1884-09-18  1888-04-12  Moved to Jasper. Established in Seward County.  
Richfield  Morton  1886-01-21  Open in 1961  Moved from Brandley. Established in Seward County.  
Springfield  Seward  1887-11-28  1913-02-15  Name change from La Grand.  
Tyrone  Seward  1888-07-10  1892-05-05  Moved from Oak.  
Wabasa  Seward  1907-07-22  1908-01-31   
West Plains  Meade  1884-12-05  1894-08-21  Name change to Plains. Established in Seward County.  

The Kansas Post Offices Database contains information taken from Robert W. Baughman's Kansas Post Offices, May 29, 1828-August 3, 1961, published by the Kansas Postal History Society, an affiliate of the Kansas Historical Society. It includes every known Kansas post office with its dates of operation. These dates can indicate approximately when the town was established and in some cases, when it disappeared.

The name and boundaries of some Kansas counties were still changing up to 1893. If the county where the post office was located changed, or if the town changed its name, this is noted in the "notes" field and you will need to search on the earlier or later names for additional information. If a post office was originally in Kansas Territory but became part of the new Colorado Territory on Feb. 28, 1861, the information given here ends with that date.

The information in the database is current through 3 August 1961. Post office openings, closings, and name changes since that date are currently being researched for addition to the database.

KSHS volunteers Bill and Diana Sowers, Joan Stevenson, and Louis Reed transcribed the information for this database. Melvin Bruntzel researched post-1961 changes.

New Search of Kansas Post Offices
Kansas Place Names Index Main Page