Jump to Navigation

Kansas Post Offices, 1828-1961

Results of Query:

Post Office: All post offices
County: Cherokee

Page 1 of 2 showing 50 records of 97 total, starting on record 1

Post Office County Established Discontinued Notes
Spring City  Cherokee  1857-08-28  1859-05-23  Established in McGee County.  
Salisbury  Cherokee  1859-01-20  1860-04-20  Established in McGee County.  
Brushville  Cherokee  1858-12-08  1860-12-17  Established in McGee County.  
Cherokee City  Cherokee  1860-08-12  1862-01-29   
Brushville  Cherokee  1861-01-16  1862-09-23   
Crawford Seminary  Cherokee  1848-08-22  1863-12-29  [It is believed that Crawford Seminary, a mission for Quapaw Indians, was near and east of present-day Baxter Springs. Official records show, however, that the mission was serviced through Missouri from 1848 to 1863.] Was also in McGee County for a time.  
Brushville  Cherokee  1866-07-09  1867-06-17   
Lola  Cherokee  1867-10-07  1868-04-10  Moved to Millersburgh.  
Petersville  Cherokee  1866-07-16  1869-10-12  Name change to Lostine.  
Cherokee City  Cherokee  1867-07-10  1870-03-25   
Millersburgh  Cherokee  1868-04-10  1870-08-17  Moved from Lola.  
Cherokee Mound  Cherokee  1869-12-22  1870-10-24   
Fly Creek  Cherokee  1868-07-02  1870-12-09   
Sanfordville  Cherokee  1870-07-27  1871-07-03   
Lewiston  Cherokee  1869-04-08  1871-07-07   
Wirtonia  Cherokee  1867-01-15  1871-11-02   
Hickman  Cherokee  1872-06-07  1872-09-03   
Spring River Falls  Cherokee  1870-08-12  1874-02-18  Moved to Brownsville.  
Gregory  Cherokee  1874-09-29  1874-11-27   
Millersburgh  Cherokee  1870-09-26  1875-04-01   
Wirtonia  Cherokee  1871-12-01  1875-07-01  Name change to Crestline.  
Favor  Cherokee  1874-08-12  1876-03-30   
Millersburgh  Cherokee  1875-05-17  1876-09-25   
Fruitland  Cherokee  1874-06-22  1876-10-26   
Coalfield  Cherokee  1872-03-13  1876-12-12  Name change to Stilson.  
New Memphis  Cherokee  1874-08-12  1876-12-22  Moved to Star Valley.  
Pleasant View  Cherokee  1866-07-09  1877-01-11   
Bero  Cherokee  1871-02-27  1877-04-03  Name change to Morton.  
Leedsville  Cherokee  1876-05-08  1877-05-25  Name change to Galena.  
Checo  Cherokee  1868-10-05  1877-09-13   
Time  Crawford  1875-01-19  1878-08-12  Moved to McCune. Established in Cherokee County.  
Lostine  Cherokee  1869-10-12  1879-04-17  Name change from Petersville. Moved to Beaumont.  
Brownsville  Cherokee  1874-02-18  1879-04-25  Moved from Spring River Falls. Name change to Messer.  
Rockwell  Cherokee  1877-08-08  1879-06-10   
Morton  Cherokee  1877-04-03  1879-09-23  Name change from Bero.  
Beaumont  Cherokee  1879-04-17  1879-11-04  Moved from Lostine.  
Crestline  Cherokee  1875-07-01  1880-06-10  Name change from Wirtonia.  
Neutral City  Cherokee  1867-08-07  1882-02-27   
Brush Creek  Cherokee  1871-04-05  1883-07-27  Name change to Neutral.  
Cheneyville  Cherokee  1883-06-25  1885-02-02  Name change to New Windsor.  
Wilsonville  Cherokee  1884-06-09  1885-12-12   
Newcastle  Cherokee  1883-02-06  1885-12-31  Moved to Stippville.  
Empire City  Cherokee  1877-07-06  1886-06-21   
Stilson  Cherokee  1876-12-12  1886-09-15  Name change from Coalfield.  
Sherwin City  Cherokee  1886-09-22  1887-02-10  Name change to Sherwin Junction.  
New Windsor  Cherokee  1885-02-02  1887-05-16  Name change from Cheneyville.  
Whitehall  Cherokee  1883-06-22  1887-05-16   
Stippville  Cherokee  1885-12-31  1887-06-01  Moved from Newcastle.  
Quakervale  Cherokee  1880-01-05  1887-10-27   
Scammonville  Cherokee  1879-04-09  1890-10-07  Name change to Scammon.  
1 | 2

The Kansas Post Offices Database contains information taken from Robert W. Baughman's Kansas Post Offices, May 29, 1828-August 3, 1961, published by the Kansas Postal History Society, an affiliate of the Kansas Historical Society. It includes every known Kansas post office with its dates of operation. These dates can indicate approximately when the town was established and in some cases, when it disappeared.

The name and boundaries of some Kansas counties were still changing up to 1893. If the county where the post office was located changed, or if the town changed its name, this is noted in the "notes" field and you will need to search on the earlier or later names for additional information. If a post office was originally in Kansas Territory but became part of the new Colorado Territory on Feb. 28, 1861, the information given here ends with that date.

The information in the database is current through 3 August 1961. Post office openings, closings, and name changes since that date are currently being researched for addition to the database.

KSHS volunteers Bill and Diana Sowers, Joan Stevenson, and Louis Reed transcribed the information for this database. Melvin Bruntzel researched post-1961 changes.

New Search of Kansas Post Offices
Kansas Place Names Index Main Page