Jump to Navigation

Kansas Post Offices, 1828-1961

Results of Query:

Post Office: All post offices
County: Chase

Page 1 of 1 showing 44 records of 44 total, starting on record 1

Post Office County Established Discontinued Notes
Silver Creek  Chase  1861-07-31  1861-12-24   
Bill's Creek  Chase  1871-04-13  1871-12-07   
Union  Chase  1863-03-30  1872-08-08   
Cottonwood  Chase  1871-12-18  1872-10-04   
Middle Creek  Chase  1862-09-22  1873-01-07  Moved to Elmdale.  
Fox Creek  Chase  1871-08-21  1873-10-27   
Bazaar  Chase  1860-04-16  1876-03-17   
Diamond Centre  Chase  1876-03-06  1876-06-23   
Bazaar  Chase  1876-05-04  1876-07-20  Name change to Mary.  
Middle Creek  Chase  1875-02-01  1877-02-26   
Mary  Chase  1876-07-20  1878-03-19  Name change from Bazaar. Name change to Bazaar.  
Fruitland  Chase  1879-05-20  1880-02-13   
Canaan  Chase  1879-09-04  1880-02-27   
Cottonwood  Chase  1873-10-09  1881-02-09  Name change to Strong.  
Elinor  Chase  1871-01-24  1881-04-08   
Silver Creek  Chase  1862-07-11  1881-10-12  Moved to Crawfordsville.  
Woodhull  Chase  1872-05-02  1882-05-31   
Fox Creek  Chase  1879-03-28  1883-05-24   
Crawfordsville  Chase  1881-10-12  1884-06-06  Moved from Silver Creek. Name change to Clements.  
Ashler  Chase  1879-07-21  1885-01-29  Moved to Elco.  
Safford  Chase  1872-12-31  1887-12-27  Name change to Kenyon.  
Lida  Chase  1876-07-18  1888-05-10   
Kenyon  Chase  1887-10-27  1888-10-03  Name change from Safford. Name change to Saffordville.  
Plumb  Chase  1899-12-07  1900-12-15   
Birley  Chase  1876-09-27  1901-08-15   
Rural  Chase  1894-10-15  1902-03-31   
Morgan  Chase  1876-12-05  1902-06-30   
Cahola  Chase  1879-07-21  1902-12-31  Was also in Morris County for a time (site moved).  
Toledo  Chase  1858-07-24  1903-04-30  Established in Breckinridge County.  
Elba  Chase  1892-04-05  1903-04-30   
Wonsevu  Chase  1875-08-23  1907-10-15   
Thurman  Chase  1874-08-24  1909-01-31   
Homestead  Chase  1876-07-18  1913-11-30   
Elk  Chase  1874-08-24  1924-12-15   
Hymer  Chase  1872-03-19  1943-10-04   
Strong  Chase  1881-02-09  1951-04-01  Name change from Cottonwood. Name change to Strong City.  
Saffordville  Chase  1888-10-03  1957-01-06  Name change from Kenyon.  
Bazaar  Chase  1878-03-19  1974-04-26  Name change from Mary.  
Clements  Chase  1884-06-06  1988-02-01  Name change from Crawfordsville.  
Matfield Green  Chase  1867-01-11  1995-09-30   
Cottonwood Falls  Chase  1858-09-16  Open in 1961  Established in Wise County.  
Elmdale  Chase  1873-01-07  Open in 1961  Moved from Middle Creek.  
Strong City  Chase  1951-04-01  Open in 1961  Name change from Strong.  
Cedar Point  Chase  1862-06-23  Open in 1961   

The Kansas Post Offices Database contains information taken from Robert W. Baughman's Kansas Post Offices, May 29, 1828-August 3, 1961, published by the Kansas Postal History Society, an affiliate of the Kansas Historical Society. It includes every known Kansas post office with its dates of operation. These dates can indicate approximately when the town was established and in some cases, when it disappeared.

The name and boundaries of some Kansas counties were still changing up to 1893. If the county where the post office was located changed, or if the town changed its name, this is noted in the "notes" field and you will need to search on the earlier or later names for additional information. If a post office was originally in Kansas Territory but became part of the new Colorado Territory on Feb. 28, 1861, the information given here ends with that date.

The information in the database is current through 3 August 1961. Post office openings, closings, and name changes since that date are currently being researched for addition to the database.

KSHS volunteers Bill and Diana Sowers, Joan Stevenson, and Louis Reed transcribed the information for this database. Melvin Bruntzel researched post-1961 changes.

New Search of Kansas Post Offices
Kansas Place Names Index Main Page