Jump to Navigation

Kansas Post Offices, 1828-1961

Results of Query:

Post Office: All post offices
County: Morris

Page 1 of 1 showing 46 records of 46 total, starting on record 1

Post Office County Established Discontinued Notes
Miller  Morris  1855-02-26  1856-02-12  Established in Wise County.  
Diamond Springs  Morris  1859-07-21  1863-02-09  Moved to Six Mile Creek.  
Six Mile Creek  Morris  1863-02-09  1866-10-03  Moved from Diamond Springs.  
Leon  Morris  1862-06-10  1869-03-23  Moved to Lyona.  
Far West  Morris  1864-04-26  1869-03-23  Moved to Aroma.  
La Grange  Morris  1868-08-26  1871-07-31   
Rebekah  Morris  1872-06-10  1873-08-13  Moved to Munson.  
Hillsborough  Morris  1874-03-19  1874-04-20  Name change to Dunlap.  
Munson  Morris  1873-08-13  1875-06-04  Moved from Rebekah. Moved to Beman.  
Hill Spring  Morris  1868-08-21  1878-12-12  Moved to Mildred.  
Skiddy  Morris  1869-11-16  1879-03-11  Name change to Camden.  
Four Mile  Morris  1879-04-30  1880-04-30  Moved to Field.  
Leland  Morris  1872-08-28  1882-03-10   
Camden  Morris  1879-03-11  1883-08-03  Name change from Skiddy. Name change to Skiddy.  
Mildred  Morris  1878-12-12  1884-05-23  Moved from Hill Spring. Name change to Wilsey.  
Dix  Morris  1883-06-29  1886-03-20   
Grand View  Morris  1876-06-28  1886-07-20  Moved to Delavan.  
Damorris  Morris  1880-11-30  1887-03-19  Moved to Dwight.  
Luther  Morris  1880-11-30  1887-04-02   
Cheshire  Morris  1881-03-15  1887-05-16   
Lily  Morris  1881-01-26  1887-08-05   
Far West  Morris  1872-10-03  1887-09-20  Moved to Latimer.  
Fleta  Morris  1883-03-16  1887-12-15   
Latimer  Morris  1887-09-20  1888-06-20  Moved from Far West.  
South Bend  Morris  1879-11-13  1889-05-05   
Parkersville  Morris  1870-08-09  1892-06-23  Name change to Parkerville.  
Latimer  Morris  1889-02-05  1895-04-15   
Field  Morris  1880-04-30  1895-11-15  Moved from Four Mile.  
Cahola  Chase  1879-07-21  1902-12-31  Was also in Morris County for a time (site moved).  
Beman  Morris  1875-06-04  1906-11-30  Moved from Munson.  
Alburtis  Morris  1879-11-11  1906-11-30   
Helmick  Morris  1887-05-14  1907-11-30   
Comiskey  Morris  1887-05-14  1911-10-14   
Comiskey  Morris  1912-06-25  1929-01-31  Was also in Lyon County for a time.  
Diamond Springs  Morris  1868-08-21  1930-02-15   
Kelso  Morris  1881-08-01  1942-06-30   
Skiddy  Morris  1883-08-03  1953-10-31  Name change from Camden.  
Parkerville  Morris  1892-06-23  1953-10-31  Name change from Parkersville.  
Latimer  Morris  1895-11-02  1961-01-06   
Dunlap  Morris  1874-04-20  1988-08-12  Name change from Hillsborough.  
Delavan  Morris  1886-07-20  1992-08-15  Moved from Grand View.  
Wilsey  Morris  1884-05-23  1997-09-27  Name change from Mildred.  
Council Grove  Morris  1855-02-26  Open in 1961  Established in Wise County.  
Burdick  Morris  1887-08-29  Open in 1961   
White City  Morris  1872-01-02  Open in 1961   
Dwight  Morris  1887-03-19  Open in 1961  Moved from Damorris.  

The Kansas Post Offices Database contains information taken from Robert W. Baughman's Kansas Post Offices, May 29, 1828-August 3, 1961, published by the Kansas Postal History Society, an affiliate of the Kansas Historical Society. It includes every known Kansas post office with its dates of operation. These dates can indicate approximately when the town was established and in some cases, when it disappeared.

The name and boundaries of some Kansas counties were still changing up to 1893. If the county where the post office was located changed, or if the town changed its name, this is noted in the "notes" field and you will need to search on the earlier or later names for additional information. If a post office was originally in Kansas Territory but became part of the new Colorado Territory on Feb. 28, 1861, the information given here ends with that date.

The information in the database is current through 3 August 1961. Post office openings, closings, and name changes since that date are currently being researched for addition to the database.

KSHS volunteers Bill and Diana Sowers, Joan Stevenson, and Louis Reed transcribed the information for this database. Melvin Bruntzel researched post-1961 changes.

New Search of Kansas Post Offices
Kansas Place Names Index Main Page