Jump to Navigation

Kansas Post Offices, 1828-1961

Results of Query:

Post Office: All post offices
County: Morris

Page 1 of 1 showing 46 records of 46 total, starting on record 1

Post Office County Established Discontinued Notes
Alburtis  Morris  1879-11-11  1906-11-30   
Beman  Morris  1875-06-04  1906-11-30  Moved from Munson.  
Burdick  Morris  1887-08-29  Open in 1961   
Cahola  Chase  1879-07-21  1902-12-31  Was also in Morris County for a time (site moved).  
Camden  Morris  1879-03-11  1883-08-03  Name change from Skiddy. Name change to Skiddy.  
Cheshire  Morris  1881-03-15  1887-05-16   
Comiskey  Morris  1887-05-14  1911-10-14   
Comiskey  Morris  1912-06-25  1929-01-31  Was also in Lyon County for a time.  
Council Grove  Morris  1855-02-26  Open in 1961  Established in Wise County.  
Damorris  Morris  1880-11-30  1887-03-19  Moved to Dwight.  
Delavan  Morris  1886-07-20  1992-08-15  Moved from Grand View.  
Diamond Springs  Morris  1859-07-21  1863-02-09  Moved to Six Mile Creek.  
Diamond Springs  Morris  1868-08-21  1930-02-15   
Dix  Morris  1883-06-29  1886-03-20   
Dunlap  Morris  1874-04-20  1988-08-12  Name change from Hillsborough.  
Dwight  Morris  1887-03-19  Open in 1961  Moved from Damorris.  
Far West  Morris  1864-04-26  1869-03-23  Moved to Aroma.  
Far West  Morris  1872-10-03  1887-09-20  Moved to Latimer.  
Field  Morris  1880-04-30  1895-11-15  Moved from Four Mile.  
Fleta  Morris  1883-03-16  1887-12-15   
Four Mile  Morris  1879-04-30  1880-04-30  Moved to Field.  
Grand View  Morris  1876-06-28  1886-07-20  Moved to Delavan.  
Helmick  Morris  1887-05-14  1907-11-30   
Hillsborough  Morris  1874-03-19  1874-04-20  Name change to Dunlap.  
Hill Spring  Morris  1868-08-21  1878-12-12  Moved to Mildred.  
Kelso  Morris  1881-08-01  1942-06-30   
La Grange  Morris  1868-08-26  1871-07-31   
Latimer  Morris  1887-09-20  1888-06-20  Moved from Far West.  
Latimer  Morris  1889-02-05  1895-04-15   
Latimer  Morris  1895-11-02  1961-01-06   
Leland  Morris  1872-08-28  1882-03-10   
Leon  Morris  1862-06-10  1869-03-23  Moved to Lyona.  
Lily  Morris  1881-01-26  1887-08-05   
Luther  Morris  1880-11-30  1887-04-02   
Mildred  Morris  1878-12-12  1884-05-23  Moved from Hill Spring. Name change to Wilsey.  
Miller  Morris  1855-02-26  1856-02-12  Established in Wise County.  
Munson  Morris  1873-08-13  1875-06-04  Moved from Rebekah. Moved to Beman.  
Parkersville  Morris  1870-08-09  1892-06-23  Name change to Parkerville.  
Parkerville  Morris  1892-06-23  1953-10-31  Name change from Parkersville.  
Rebekah  Morris  1872-06-10  1873-08-13  Moved to Munson.  
Six Mile Creek  Morris  1863-02-09  1866-10-03  Moved from Diamond Springs.  
Skiddy  Morris  1869-11-16  1879-03-11  Name change to Camden.  
Skiddy  Morris  1883-08-03  1953-10-31  Name change from Camden.  
South Bend  Morris  1879-11-13  1889-05-05   
White City  Morris  1872-01-02  Open in 1961   
Wilsey  Morris  1884-05-23  1997-09-27  Name change from Mildred.  

The Kansas Post Offices Database contains information taken from Robert W. Baughman's Kansas Post Offices, May 29, 1828-August 3, 1961, published by the Kansas Postal History Society, an affiliate of the Kansas Historical Society. It includes every known Kansas post office with its dates of operation. These dates can indicate approximately when the town was established and in some cases, when it disappeared.

The name and boundaries of some Kansas counties were still changing up to 1893. If the county where the post office was located changed, or if the town changed its name, this is noted in the "notes" field and you will need to search on the earlier or later names for additional information. If a post office was originally in Kansas Territory but became part of the new Colorado Territory on Feb. 28, 1861, the information given here ends with that date.

The information in the database is current through 3 August 1961. Post office openings, closings, and name changes since that date are currently being researched for addition to the database.

KSHS volunteers Bill and Diana Sowers, Joan Stevenson, and Louis Reed transcribed the information for this database. Melvin Bruntzel researched post-1961 changes.

New Search of Kansas Post Offices
Kansas Place Names Index Main Page