Jump to Navigation

Kansas Post Offices, 1828-1961

Results of Query:

Post Office: All post offices
County: McPherson

Page 2 of 2 showing 19 records of 69 total, starting on record 51

Post Office County Established Discontinued Notes
Alpha  McPherson  1880-09-06  1897-09-30   
Bachelor  McPherson  1874-02-25  1876-01-24  Name change to Wheatland.  
Battle Hill  McPherson  1876-05-24  1894-06-30   
Bloomingdale  McPherson  1871-01-24  1872-10-15  Moved to Roxbury.  
Bonaville  McPherson  1875-02-15  1876-01-05   
Bonaville  McPherson  1876-01-31  1880-08-30   
Bonaville  McPherson  1881-04-26  1881-11-07   
Smoky  McPherson  1894-09-27  1895-01-23  Also spelled Smokey. Name change from Smoky Hill. Name change to Fremont.  
Calmar  McPherson  1871-12-01  1873-08-11  Moved to Marquette.  
Big Turkey  McPherson  1860-05-18  1866-06-22  Established in Peketon County. Was also in Marion County for a time.  
Schley  McPherson  1898-12-19  1902-01-31   
Sharp's Creek  McPherson  1872-12-06  1894-10-15  Name change to Sharpscreek.  
Sharpscreek  McPherson  1894-10-15  1899-07-31  Name change from Sharp's Creek.  
Sparta  McPherson  1874-08-12  1902-01-31   
Spring Valley  McPherson  1872-08-15  1902-01-31   
Superior  McPherson  1875-02-15  1889-04-22  Name change to Inman.  
Sweadal  McPherson  1869-11-26  1872-01-15   
Smoky Hill  McPherson  1873-01-03  1894-09-27  Also spelled Smokey Hill. Name change to Smoky.  
Elivon  Harvey  1873-02-10  1878-02-25  Was also in McPherson County for a time (site moved).  
1 | 2

The Kansas Post Offices Database contains information taken from Robert W. Baughman's Kansas Post Offices, May 29, 1828-August 3, 1961, published by the Kansas Postal History Society, an affiliate of the Kansas Historical Society. It includes every known Kansas post office with its dates of operation. These dates can indicate approximately when the town was established and in some cases, when it disappeared.

The name and boundaries of some Kansas counties were still changing up to 1893. If the county where the post office was located changed, or if the town changed its name, this is noted in the "notes" field and you will need to search on the earlier or later names for additional information. If a post office was originally in Kansas Territory but became part of the new Colorado Territory on Feb. 28, 1861, the information given here ends with that date.

The information in the database is current through 3 August 1961. Post office openings, closings, and name changes since that date are currently being researched for addition to the database.

KSHS volunteers Bill and Diana Sowers, Joan Stevenson, and Louis Reed transcribed the information for this database. Melvin Bruntzel researched post-1961 changes.

New Search of Kansas Post Offices
Kansas Place Names Index Main Page