Jump to Navigation

Kansas Post Offices, 1828-1961

Results of Query:

Post Office: All post offices
County: McPherson

Page 2 of 2 showing 19 records of 69 total, starting on record 51

Post Office County Established Discontinued Notes
Spring Valley  McPherson  1872-08-15  1902-01-31   
Delmore  McPherson  1873-05-13  1902-01-31   
Winnesheik  McPherson  1874-06-23  1902-01-31   
Johnstown  McPherson  1885-01-16  1904-05-31   
Groveland  McPherson  1891-02-12  1912-05-15   
Dolespark  McPherson  1898-04-13  1918-12-31   
Fremont  McPherson  1895-01-23  1932-01-30  Name change from Smoky.  
Groveland  McPherson  1915-07-21  1939-11-30   
Elyria  McPherson  1887-02-26  1954-02-15  Moved from King City.  
Conway  McPherson  1880-06-29  1983-05-23   
Canton  McPherson  1874-10-12  Open in 1961   
Roxbury  McPherson  1872-10-15  Open in 1961  Moved from Bloomingdale.  
Windom  McPherson  1884-04-09  Open in 1961  Name change from Hallville.  
McPherson  McPherson  1873-01-21  Open in 1961   
Marquette  McPherson  1873-08-11  Open in 1961  Moved from Calmar.  
Lindsborg  McPherson  1869-12-01  Open in 1961   
Inman  McPherson  1889-04-22  Open in 1961  Name change from Superior.  
Galva  McPherson  1879-10-01  Open in 1961   
Moundridge  McPherson  1887-02-17  Open in 1961  Name change from Christian.  
1 | 2

The Kansas Post Offices Database contains information taken from Robert W. Baughman's Kansas Post Offices, May 29, 1828-August 3, 1961, published by the Kansas Postal History Society, an affiliate of the Kansas Historical Society. It includes every known Kansas post office with its dates of operation. These dates can indicate approximately when the town was established and in some cases, when it disappeared.

The name and boundaries of some Kansas counties were still changing up to 1893. If the county where the post office was located changed, or if the town changed its name, this is noted in the "notes" field and you will need to search on the earlier or later names for additional information. If a post office was originally in Kansas Territory but became part of the new Colorado Territory on Feb. 28, 1861, the information given here ends with that date.

The information in the database is current through 3 August 1961. Post office openings, closings, and name changes since that date are currently being researched for addition to the database.

KSHS volunteers Bill and Diana Sowers, Joan Stevenson, and Louis Reed transcribed the information for this database. Melvin Bruntzel researched post-1961 changes.

New Search of Kansas Post Offices
Kansas Place Names Index Main Page