Jump to Navigation

Kansas Post Offices, 1828-1961

Results of Query:

Post Office: All post offices
County: Reno

Page 2 of 2 showing 20 records of 70 total, starting on record 51

Post Office County Established Discontinued Notes
Abbyville  Reno  1886-06-01  Open in 1961  Moved from Salt Creek.  
Arlington  Reno  1878-02-07  Open in 1961   
Avery  Reno  1885-02-16  1901-07-31   
Castleton  Reno  1872-12-06  1957-06-28   
Bland  Reno  1900-02-02  1905-01-31   
Bone Springs  Reno  1874-10-12  1902-11-29   
Booth  Reno  1890-03-29  1900-10-02  Name change to Darlow.  
Buhler  Reno  1888-10-20  Open in 1961  Name change from Hamburg.  
Burrton  Reno  1872-04-29  1872-11-08   
Nonpariel  Reno  1876-01-31  1879-12-26  Also spelled Nonpareil. Moved from Idaville.  
Nonpariel  Reno  1880-04-05  1881-01-12  Also spelled Nonpareil.  
Sylvia  Reno  1887-04-23  Open in 1961  Name change from Zenith.  
New London  Reno  1873-11-17  1881-01-12  Established in Rice County.  
Peace Creek  Reno  1876-05-26  1905-07-31  Established in Barton County. Was also in Stafford County for a time (site moved).  
Salt Creek  Reno  1873-12-08  1886-06-01  Moved to Abbyville.  
Sego  Reno  1874-10-12  1905-01-14   
South Hutchinson  Reno  1887-08-22  1898-07-19   
Stella  Reno  1884-03-24  1886-05-11   
Stullville  Reno  1879-09-04  1880-12-28   
Birch  Sedgwick   1879-07-23  1894-07-14  Was also in Reno County for a time (site moved).  
1 | 2

The Kansas Post Offices Database contains information taken from Robert W. Baughman's Kansas Post Offices, May 29, 1828-August 3, 1961, published by the Kansas Postal History Society, an affiliate of the Kansas Historical Society. It includes every known Kansas post office with its dates of operation. These dates can indicate approximately when the town was established and in some cases, when it disappeared.

The name and boundaries of some Kansas counties were still changing up to 1893. If the county where the post office was located changed, or if the town changed its name, this is noted in the "notes" field and you will need to search on the earlier or later names for additional information. If a post office was originally in Kansas Territory but became part of the new Colorado Territory on Feb. 28, 1861, the information given here ends with that date.

The information in the database is current through 3 August 1961. Post office openings, closings, and name changes since that date are currently being researched for addition to the database.

KSHS volunteers Bill and Diana Sowers, Joan Stevenson, and Louis Reed transcribed the information for this database. Melvin Bruntzel researched post-1961 changes.

New Search of Kansas Post Offices
Kansas Place Names Index Main Page