Jump to Navigation

1810 Out-of-State Census

The non-Kansas federal census listed below are available to patrons in the research room of the Center for Historical Research. The census is on microfilm, except where indicated otherwise. These materials are not available through interlibrary loan. Please see our reference correspondence policy for the reference assistance we are able to provide. We do not make copies from printed census.

Information Contained in the Census

Each entry shows the name of the head of household; number of free white males under 10, 10 and under 16, 16 and under 26, 26 and under 45, and 45 and older; number of free white females in the same age categories; number of all other free persons, except Indians not taxed; and number of slaves. It does not show the name of anyone other than the head of household.

Census Microfilm

Printed index in research room.

  • M-1 Fairfield and Hartford Counties
  • M-2 Litchfield, Middlesex, and New Haven Counties
  • M-3 New London, Tolland, and Windham Counties

Printed index in research room.

  • M-4 Entire state

Printed index in research room.

  • M-5 Adair, Barren, Boone, Bourbon, Bracken, Breckinridge, Bullitt, and Butler Counties
  • M-6 Estill, Fayette, Fleming, Floyd, Franklin, Gallatin, Garrard, Grayson, Green, Greenup, Hardin, Harrison, Henderson, Henry, and Hopkins Counties
  • M-7 Jefferson, Jessamine, Knox, Lewis, Lincoln, Livingston, Logan, Madison, Mason, Mercer, Montgomery, and Muhlenberg Counties
  • M-8 Nelson, Nicholas, Ohio, Pendleton, Pulaski, Rockcastle, Scott, Shelby, Warren, Washington, Wayne and Woodford Counties
  • M-9 Caldwell, Campbell, Casey, Christian, Clark, Clay, and Cumberland Counties

Printed index in research room.

  • M-10 Ascension, Assumption, Atacapas, Avoyelles, Baton Rouge, Catahoula, Concordia, Iberville, Lafourche, Natchitoches, Orleans, Opelousas, Ouachita, Plaquemines, Pointe Coupee, Rapides, St. Bernard, St. Charles, St. James and St. John the Baptist Parishes

Printed index in research room.

  • M-11 Cumberland, Hancock, and Kennebec Counties
  • M-12 Lincoln, Oxford, Somerset, Washington, and York Counties, State recapitulation.

Printed index in research room.

  • M-13 City of Baltimore and Baltimore County
  • M-14 Allegany, Anne Arundel, Harford, Kent, Montgomery and Talbot Counties
  • M-15 Calvert, Caroline, Cecil, Charles, Dorchester, and Frederick Counties
  • M-16 Prince Georges, Queen Annes, St. Marys, Somerset, Washington and Worcester Counties

Printed index in research room.

  • M-17 Barnstable, Berkshire and Bristol Counties
  • M-18 Dukes, Essex, Nantucket and Norfolk Counties
  • M-19 Hampshire County
  • M-20 Middlesex County
  • M-21 Plymouth and Suffolk Counties
  • M-22 Worcester County

New Hampshire
Printed index in research room.

  • M-23 Cheshire and Grafton (part) Counties
  • M-24 Grafton (part) and Hillsboro Counties
  • M-25 Coos, Rockingham and Strafford Counties and State recapitulation

New York
Printed index in research room.

  • M-26 Albany, Broome, Chenango and Delaware Counties
  • M-27 Essex, Franklin, Genesee, Greene and Herkimer Counties
  • M-28 Jefferson, Kings, Lewis and Madison Counties
  • M-29 Montgomery, Niagara and Orange Counties
  • M-30 Allegany, Clinton, Dutchess, Sullivan and Washington Counties
  • M-31 Cayuga and Columbia Counties
  • M-32 New York County (including New York City)
  • M-33 Oneida and Ontario Counties
  • M-34 Onondaga, Otsego, Queens and Richmond Counties
  • M-35 Rensselaer, Rockland and Saratoga Counties
  • M-36 St. Lawrence, Schoharie, Seneca and Suffolk Counties
  • M-37 Schenectady, Steuben, Tioga, Ulster and Westchester Counties

North Carolina
Printed index in research room.

  • M-38 Anson, Brunswick, Caswell, Currituck, Halifax, Person, Randolph, Richmond and Robeson Counties
  • M-39 Ashe, Beaufort, Bertie, Buncombe, Burke, Cabarrus, Camden, Carteret, Chatham, Chowan and Cumberland Counties
  • M-40 Duplin, Edgecombe, Franklin, Gates, Granville, Guilford, Haywood, Hertford, Hyde, Iredell, Johnston, Jones, Lenoir and Lincoln Counties
  • M-41 Martin, Montgomery, Moore, Nash, Onslow, Orange, Pasquotank, Perquimans and Pitt Counties
  • M-42 Bladen, Columbus, Mecklenburg, Northampton, Rutherford, Sampson and Warren Counties
  • M-43 Rockingham, Rowan, Stokes, Surry, Tyrrell, Washington, Wayne and Wilkes Counties

Printed index in research room.

  • M-44 Adams, Allegheny and Armstrong Counties
  • M-45 Beaver, Bedford (part) and Berks Counties
  • M-46 Bedford (part), Bucks, Butler, Cambria and Centre Counties
  • M-47 Chester, Clearfield, Crawford and Delaware Counties
  • M-48 Cumberland and Erie Counties
  • M-49 Greene, Indiana and Luzerne Counties
  • M-50 Lancaster County
  • M-51 Huntingdon, Jefferson, McKean, Mifflin, Northampton, Tioga and Westmoreland Counties
  • M-52 Lycoming, Mercer and Montgomery Counties
  • M-53 Northumberland, Potter, Somerset, Venango and Warren Counties
  • M-54 Dauphin, Fayette and Franklin Counties
  • M-55 City of Philadelphia
  • M-56 Philadelphia County (excluding the city of Philadelphia)
  • M-57 Washington, Wayne and York Counties

Rhode Island
Printed index in research room.

  • M-58 Bristol and Providence Counties
  • M-59 Kent, Newport and Washington Counties. State recapitulation

South Carolina
Printed index in research room.

  • M-60 Abbeville, Barnwell, Beaufort, Charleston, Chester, Chesterfield and Colleton Counties
  • M-61 Lancaster, Laurens, Lexington,Marion, Marlboro, Newberry, Orangeburg, Pendleton, Richland, Spartanburg, Sumter, Union, Williamsburg and York Counties. State recapitulation.
  • M-62 Darlington, Edgefield, Greenville, Horry, Kershaw, Fairfield and Georgetown Counties


  • M-63 Rutherford County

Printed index in research room.

  • M-64 Addison, Bennington, Caledonia, Chittenden, Essex, Franklin, Grand Isle, Orange and Orleans Counties
  • M-65 Rutland, Windham and Windsor Counties. State recapitulation

Printed index in research room. (Includes present-day West Virginia)

  • M-66 Accomack, Albemarle, Amelia, Amherst, Augusta, Bath, Berkeley, Botetourt, Brooke, Brunswick and Buckingham Counties
  • M-67 Bedford, Caroline, Chesterfield and Dinwiddie Counties, the borough of Norfolk, the town of Petersburg and Rockingham County
  • M-68 Campbell, Charles City, Charlotte, Culpeper, Cumberland, Elizabeth City, Essex, Fairfax, Fauquier, Fluvanna, Franklin, Frederick, Giles, Gloucester, Goochland and Greensville Counties
  • M-69 Hampshire, Hanover, Harrison, Henrico (excluding the city of Richmond), Isle of Wight, Jefferson, Kanawha, King and Queen, King George, Lancaster, Lee (recapitulation only), Loudoun, Lunenburg, Madison, Mason, Mathews, Middlesex and Monongalia Counties
  • M-70 Monroe, Montgomery, Nelson, New Kent, Norfolk (excluding the borough of Norfolk), Northumberland, Nottoway, Ohio, Pendleton, Powhatan, Prince Edward, Prince George, Prince William, Princess Anne, Randolph and Richmond Counties and city of Richmond and Rockbridge County
  • M-71 Shenandoah, Southampton, Spotsylvania, Stafford, Surry, Sussex, Warwick, Washington, Westmoreland, Wood, Wythe and York Counties