Jump to Navigation

Edgar Langsdorf Award

Edgar Langsdorf The Edgar Langsdorf Award of Excellence honors superior writing and is presented on an annual basis to authors of articles in the quarterly publication Kansas History: A Journal of the Central Plains.

The Kansas Historical Foundation appoints a panel of judges to make the selection by September 1 of each year. Presentations of a plaque and award of $200 are made at the Kansas Historical Foundation annual meeting in the fall. Find a list of past recipients.

The award honors the memory of Edgar Langsdorf, a longtime employee of the Historical Society. An exceptional historian and writer, Langsdorf made many contributions to Kansas history, often unheralded.

There is no application procedure for this award. It is selected by the panel from articles published each year in Kansas History.

For more information about this award contact:

Kansas Historical Foundation
6425 SW 6th Avenue
Topeka KS 66615-1099
Fax 785-272-8682