Jump to Navigation

Kansas Historical Notes - August 1938

August 1938 (Vol. 7, No. 3), page 336
Transcribed by lhn;
digitized with permission of the Kansas Historical Society.

In response to a call by Al Gard, of Anthony, acting as temporary chairman representing the Anthony Chamber of Commerce, several Harper county citizens met at Anthony, June 17, 1938, to discuss plans for organization of a Harper county historical society. Included among temporary officers elected were: Homer L. Thompson, president; Mrs. Beth Casper, secretary, and Mrs. H. M. Sydney, treasurer. Formal organization is to be effected later. "The Lone Tree," in Meade county, famous cottonwood marking the scene of the massacre of six United States surveyors by Indians in 1874, was blown down in a windstorm in June, 1938. Most of the wood has been hauled to Meade, where it is temporarily stored in the R. F. Todd & Co. warehouse. For a story of the massacre see The Kansas Historical Quarterly, v. 1, pp. 266-272.

A granite marker, erected near the site of Scandia's old Colony house, was dedicated July 29, 1938. The following inscription appears on the monument: "1868-1938. New Scandinavia founded by the Scandinavian Agricultural Society. City of Scandia incorporated 9-15-1879. We dedicate this monument to you, our pioneer Fathers and Mothers. The first Colony house was located 200 feet west of this marker."

John G. Ellenbecker's new 130-page illustrated booklet, The Jayhawkers of Death Valley, was published in July, 1938. The story ran serially in the Marshall County News, Marysville, November 4, 1937, to May 12, 1938. The Illinois "Jayhawkers" were thirty-six young men, goldseekers, who in the spring of 1849 started overland with wagons for the gold mines near Sacramento, Cal. They were on the road a year and suffered severe hardships. Mr. Ellenbecker tells their story collectively and individually, and gives names and addresses of many of the party's descendants.

At the twentieth annual reunion of the Thirty-fifth Division Association held in St. Louis, Mo., August 4-6, 1938, Col. Charles H. Browne, of Horton, was elected president for the coming year. Other officers include Sen. Harry S. Truman, Kansas City, Mo., first vice-president, and Capt. Mahlon S. Weed, Kansas City, Kan., second vice-president. The 1939 annual reunion will be held in Kansas City, Kan.