Jump to Navigation

Kansas Civil Townships and Independent Cities

Results of Query:

Township/City: All townships and independent cities
County: Wyandotte

Page 1 of 1 showing 7 records of 7 total, starting on record 1

Name County Population (2020 census) Notes
Prairie Township  Wyandotte    Dissolved 1 Jan 1992; entire area annexed by Kansas City. 
Wyandotte Township  Wyandotte    Ceased to exist in the 1970s, the remainder of its area having been annexed into Kansas City and Edwardsville. 
Edwardsville (city)  Wyandotte  4,717  Became an independent city 1 Jan 2000 
Bonner Springs (city)  Wyandotte  7,831   
Lake Quivira (city)  Wyandotte  53   
Delaware Township  Wyandotte  37  Most of its area became part of newly independent Edwardsville (city) in 2000. 
Kansas City (city)  Wyandotte  156,607  Government consolidated with Wyandotte County effective 1 Oct 1997. Bonner Springs, Edwardsville, and Lake Quivira are not included in the consolidated government. 

Smaller cities and towns in Kansas are included within the surrounding township. However, cities of the first and second class (generally, those with more than 2,000 inhabitants) are administratively separate and independent of any township.

Township Map of Wyandotte County, ca. 2000:
Township Map of Wyandotte County, 2000

New Search of Civil Townships and Independent Cities
Kansas Place Names Index Main Page