Jump to Navigation

National and State Registers of Historic Places

Results of Query:

County: McPherson
Records: All Properties

New Search

Page 1 of 4 showing 10 records of 31 total, starting on record 1
1 | 2 | 3 | 4

Anton Pearson House and Studio

Picture of property 505 S. Main
Lindsborg (McPherson County)
Listed in National Register 2021-04-02

Architect: Not listed
Category: professional; domestic; single dwelling; work of art; commerce

The Anton Pearson House & Studio are significant for their association with (Nils) Anton Pearson (1892-1967), an important and leading figure in the artist community of Lindsborg, Kansas as well as the state. The House & Studio are also significant as an excellent example of the Pearson’s artworks designed and built by Pearson. Anton Pearson became known statewide and internationally for his prominence and importance to the art community in Lindsborg, and remained an important figure until his passing in 1967. During his career, he was an active student, teacher, and engaged community member. Pearson, his mentor Birger Sandzen, and their fellow artists had created an artist colony that would draw hundreds of tourists each year to Lindsborg.

Berquist & Nelson Drugstore Building

Picture of property 105 N Main Street
Lindsborg (McPherson County)
Listed in National Register 2009-04-22

Architect: unknown
Category: specialty store; multiple dwelling; single dwelling

Built for commercial use on the ground floor and offices on the upper level, this two-story brick Italianate-style building is distinguished by its second-story ornate window hoods and corbelled parapet. Located on the west side of Main Street in downtown Lindsborg, the Berquist and Nelson Drugstore Building's early history has been pieced together using Sanborn Maps, deeds, and property tax records, which suggest it was constructed in circa 1880. Local physician and surgeon Gustav Berquist was an early owner of the building who partnered with Jacob Peterson as "dealers in drugs, paints, and oils." Other businesses that have occupied the building include a grocery store, clothing store, millinery, hardware business, fabric store, and an antique shop. This building was nominated for its architecture and its association with local commercial development.

Bixby House

Picture of property 321 South Maple
McPherson (McPherson County)
Listed in State Register 1992-05-06

Architect: Not listed
Category: single dwelling

Canton Township Carnegie Library

Picture of property 300 North Main
Canton (McPherson County)
Listed in National Register 1987-06-25

Architect: Washburn and Stookey
Category: library
Thematic Nomination: Carnegie Libraries of Kansas

With the assistance of a $6,000 grant from the Carnegie Corporation Library Building Program, the Canton Township Carnegie Library was completed in 1921. It was one of 63 Carnegie-funded libraries built in Kansas during the first three decades of the 20th century. This building was designed by architects George P. Washburn and his son-in-law Roy Stookey, and exhibits a utilitarian character with some Prairie-style details. It was nominated as part of the "Carnegie Libraries of Kansas" multiple property nomination for its local significance in the areas of education and architecture.

Darrah Barn

Picture of property 1330 Moccasin Rd
McPherson Vicinity (McPherson County)
Listed in State Register 2005-11-19

Architect: Not listed
Category: animal facility

Constructed between 1915 and 1922, the Darrah Barn is considered a typical dairy barn of the period. It is nominated to the Register of Historic Kansas Places as an example of gambrel-roofed barn constructed with a combination of tile-block and wood frame. A silo is attached to the northeast corner of the barn.

Farmers State Bank

Picture of property 101 S Main
Lindsborg (McPherson County)
Listed in National Register 2008-10-16

Architect: unknown
Category: financial institution; professional; specialty store; city hall; multiple dwelling; meeting hall

Having survived financial panics in the 1890s, 1907, and the Great Depression, the Farmers State Bank is Lindsborg's longest operating bank. Organized in 1886, the bank's early stockholders represented a "Who's Who" of Lindsborg pioneers. Most retained their association with the bank for decades. The bank quickly outgrew its small one-story frame building and built this brick Italianate-style commercial block at the southeast corner of Lincoln and Main in 1887. The building is nominated to the National Register for its association with local commerce and agriculture in the Swedish-American community of Lindsborg.

Hanson, Hans, House

Picture of property 211 East Fifth
Marquette (McPherson County)
Listed in National Register 1982-02-19

Architect: Not listed
Category: single dwelling

Hjerpe Grocery

Picture of property 110 & 112 N. Main
Lindsborg (McPherson County)
Listed in National Register 2010-07-11

Architect: unknown
Category: specialty store; multiple dwelling

Alfred Hjerpe, the son of Swedish immigrants, operated a grocery business out of this downtown Lindsborg building during the 1930s and 1940s. The two-story brick building is located in the middle of the east side of the 100 block of North Main and features two first-floor storefronts with recessed entrances. There is a second-floor apartment that is accessed by an exterior staircase at the rear of the building. The Commercial-style building retains a high degree of interior and exterior architectural integrity including its original storefronts, entrances, windows, and floor plan. It was nominated for its local commercial history and its architecture.

Holmberg and Johnson Blacksmith Shop

Picture of property 122 N Main St
Lindsborg (McPherson County)
Listed in National Register 2009-04-22

Architect: unknown
Category: specialty store

Built by Swedish immigrants circa 1900, this one-story brick blacksmith shop is located in downtown Lindsborg. Oskar Holmberg partnered with Janne Johnson to build a successful blacksmith business that included erecting fire escapes on numerous local buildings. Although Holmberg left the business in 1905, the sign on the building still bears his name. Johnson continued operating the shop until 1954. Local artist Erik Ephraim Malm, who would later gain notoriety when the Acme Company purchased and marketed his a decorative stenciling system, painted the façade sign shortly after the building’s construction. The building's historic features include a stepped parapet, central sliding doors, the forge, and hooks, rings, and window grills, that clearly portray its original function as a blacksmith shop. It was nominated for its association with local business and commerce.

Inman I.O.O.F. Hall

Picture of property 100 North Main
Inman (McPherson County)
Listed in National Register 2011-04-15

Architect: McKinzie, J. D., builder
Category: meeting hall; library; commerce

Built in 1893, the I.O.O.F. Hall is the only two-story building in downtown Inman. It was constructed by McPherson builder J. D. McKinzie in the popular late Victorian-era Italianate style. As was typical of late nineteenth century downtown buildings, the first floor served as commercial space while the second floor was reserved for meeting space and social functions. Today, the Inman Public Library operates out of the first floor, while the second floor is unused. The building features a storefront on the west elevation and a smaller secondary storefront on the south-facing elevation. A decorative cornice sits atop the west and south walls. The building was nominated for its local significance in the areas of social history and architecture.

1 | 2 | 3 | 4

New Search