Jump to Navigation

National and State Registers of Historic Places

Results of Query:

County: Ellis
Records: All Properties

New Search

Page 3 of 3 showing 2 records of 22 total, starting on record 21
1 | 2 | 3

St. Joseph's Church and Parochial School

Picture of property 210 W 13th/217 W 13th
Hays (Ellis County)
Listed in National Register Nov 19, 2008

Architect: Marshall, Joseph
Area of Significance: religious facility; church school
Architectural Style(s): Romanesque Revival

The St. Joseph's Catholic Parish traces its roots to the mid-1870s when German Catholics arrived in Ellis County. The Romanesque Revival style St. Joseph's Catholic Church (ca. 1904) and Parochial School (ca. 1907) was designed by the Topeka architect Joseph Marshall, who earned a reputation for designing several religious, educational, and institutional buildings. He had also served as assistant state architect between 1897 and 1898. The 2 ½-story church features a gabled nave defined by a tiered tower that rises from the center of the front elevation and corner buttresses with massive spires. Round-arched openings, typical of the Romanesque Revival style, frame stained-glass windows with ornate tracery. The nominated property also includes the Romanesque Revival-style parochial school. The school and church are nominated to the National Register for their architectural significance.

Washington Grade School

Picture of property 305 Main Street
Hays (Ellis County)
Listed in National Register Apr 1, 2021

Architect: Mann and Company
Area of Significance: school; education related
Architectural Style(s): Commercial Style; Tudor Revival; Late 19th and 20th Century Revivals; Late 19th and Early 20th Century American Movements
Thematic Nomination: Historic Public Schools of Kansas

Built during a period of rising student enrollment, the construction of Washington Grade School alleviated the growing Hays School District in the 1920s. The building consists of four main sections: the original building (1926), two historic additions (1931, 1951), and one non-historic addition (1994).

1 | 2 | 3

New Search