Jump to Navigation

National and State Registers of Historic Places

Results of Query:

County: Marshall
Records: All Properties

New Search

Page 3 of 3 showing 3 records of 23 total, starting on record 21
1 | 2 | 3

Transue Brothers Blacksmith & Wagon Shop

Picture of property 309 Main Street
Summerfield (Marshall County)
Listed in National Register 2009-12-30

Architect: Transue Brothers, Harry Sellers, local mason
Category: specialty store

Located at the north end of Main Street in Summerfield is the Transue Brothers Blacksmith & Wagon Shop, which traces its roots to 1889 when blacksmith Thomas Hutton first opened a shop at that location. He sold the business in 1893 to brothers James and George Transue, who erected this fireproof limestone and brick building in 1898. The Transue brothers provided a variety of services to the community that included horseshoeing, building and repairing wagons and sleighs, and iron fabrication. Their business and the buildings out of which they operated adapted to changes in technology and to meet consumers' needs. The early twentieth-century shift away from horse-drawn wagons toward automobiles is evident within the farrier's shop where the brothers converted the shop into an auto repair garage by digging a pit in the floor over which cars could be parked for repair to the undercarriage. The nominated property includes three functionally related buildings that were erected between 1898 and 1911: the blacksmith and wagon shop, the farrier's shop, and the coal shed. They were nominated for their association with local commercial history and their architecture.

Waterville Opera House

Picture of property 200 E Front St
Waterville (Marshall County)
Listed in National Register 2008-10-16

Architect: Snodgrass, A. W.
Category: city hall; theater
Thematic Nomination: Historic Theaters and Opera Houses of Kansas

Built in 1903, the Waterville Opera House is located across the street from the Missouri Pacific Railroad tracks and the National Register-listed Weaver Hotel. Designed by Frankfort, Kansas architect A. W. Snodgrass, this two-story limestone building was constructed by area craftsmen with locally quarried limestone and has remained in the ownership of the city since its construction. The bottom floor was built to house the city's government offices, library, banquet room, kitchen, restrooms, and dressing rooms. An auditorium and raised stage has always occupied the second floor space. The property is nominated for its association with local entertainment and government history, and for its significance as a unique architect-designed opera house and city hall with Classical Revival detailing.

Weaver Hotel

Picture of property 126 South Kansas
Waterville (Marshall County)
Listed in National Register 1975-08-28

Architect: Weaver, William E.
Category: hotel

1 | 2 | 3

New Search