Jump to Navigation

National and State Registers of Historic Places

Results of Query:

County: Sedgwick
Records: All Properties

New Search

Page 8 of 16 showing 10 records of 151 total, starting on record 71
4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12

Kellogg Elementary School

Picture of property 1220 E. Kellogg Dr.
Wichita (Sedgwick County)
Listed in National Register Jan 18, 2011

Architect: Overend & Boucher; Dondlinger & Sons (builder)
Area of Significance: vacant/not in use; school
Architectural Style(s): Modern Movement
Thematic Nomination: Historic Public Schools of Kansas

Kellogg Elementary School is located in Hunter's Third Addition to the City of Wichita, a one-block addition stretching from Kellogg Avenue on the south, Hunter Avenue (now Lewis Street) on the north, Laura Street on the west, and Pattie Street on the east. The first Kellogg School, a Richardsonian Romanesque-style building was completed in 1890. It was not until the 1910s and 1920s that the neighborhood surrounding Kellogg School was fully developed with small bungalows and cottages surrounding the school. By 1935, overflowing classrooms necessitated temporary classroom buildings northeast of the main building. The school district hired local architects Overend and Boucher to design the new Kellogg School, and Dondlinger and Sons Construction Company was awarded the contract with a successful bid of $113,980. Construction of the Art Moderne school was completed just in time for the opening day of school on September 8, 1941. The school was closed in 1996. It was nominated as part of the “Historic Public Schools of Kansas” multiple property listing for its association with local education and its architecture.

Kelly, Edward M., House

Picture of property 1711 North Market Street
Wichita (Sedgwick County)
Listed in National Register Jul 11, 2002

Architect: Unknown
Area of Significance: single dwelling
Architectural Style(s): Greek Revival

Built in 1910, by real estate speculator Elmer Brodie, the Edward M. Kelly House is a two-and-one-half-story frame Neo-Classical residence. The home is known for the three large ionic columns supporting the portico on the east façade. Edward M. Kelly purchased the home in 1914 and resided there until 1936. Kelly was the president and manager of Commerce Milling and Elevator Company as well as the manager of the Edward Kelly Grain Company. During a long tenure on the Wichita Board of Trade Kelly served as secretary, treasurer, and president.

Knightley's Parking Garage

Picture of property 303 S Broadway St
Wichita (Sedgwick County)
Listed in National Register Oct 11, 2016

Architect: Overend & Boucher
Area of Significance: road-related
Architectural Style(s): Modern Movement

Upon opening in March 1950, Knightley’s Parking Garage (named for the garage’s manager) was Wichita’s largest garage, providing downtown visitors the ability to park and shop or work within a close proximity. Architects Overend & Boucher, with structural engineer George Hartwell, designed the Modern five-story, 500-car garage, embracing the latest technological advances in concrete construction. The garage is a rare surviving example of a Modern post-war, privately-owned and attendant-operated garage, in contrast to self-park garages that became dominant in the 1950s. A dual-function facility, the garage also served as home to the offices of Lauck Oil Company for more than 25 years.

Kress, S.H., Company Building

Picture of property 224 East Douglas
Wichita (Sedgwick County)
Listed in National Register Jun 24, 1985

Architect: G.E. Mackay
Area of Significance: department store
Architectural Style(s): Gothic; Other

The S. H. Kress Company Building, located on the northwest corner of Broadway and Douglas Streets, is a five-story Commercial Gothic structure. The S. H. Kress Company opened its first Wichita store in 1908 and by 1928, the company decided to construct a bigger building as a result of the 1920s boom. Designed by G.E. Mackay of New York City, who also designed the Kress Building in Emporia, the Wichita building was constructed between 1928 and 1930 by W.H. Bowen Construction Company. The first floor of the building was originally the sales floor for the Kress store. It is a single, large room with a double-height ceiling supported by square piers. The piers and rear wall are covered in marble with gothic detailing. Each pier has an ornate plaster capital. Much of this original integrity is still in place. The Kress company building was nominated as an example of Commercial Gothic architecture.

Lahn Building

Picture of property 2206, 2208, 2210 E Douglas Ave.
Wichita (Sedgwick County)
Listed in State Register Aug 12, 2013

Architect: Unknown
Area of Significance: specialty store
Architectural Style(s): Commercial Style

The Lahn Building was built in 1922 east of downtown on East Douglas Avenue and illustrates the commercial development that occurred throughout the Wichita following the expansion of the city limits in 1919. Development along this section of Douglas, then the city's main east/west thoroughfare, followed the establishment of Wichita's "Auto-Row" on Douglas immediately east of downtown and coincided with the selection of the site across the street from the Lahn Building as home to Wichita East High School. This modest commercial building interprets the story of resourceful Latvian Jewish immigrants who came to Wichita in 1905 to escape Russian persecution and to pursue the American dream. Eli Lahn, in partnership with his son-in-law David Krashin, erected the building as an investment, a venture that would help support the Lahn family for 77 years. The two-story building was designed to maximize income-producing potential, with three retail spaces on the ground floor and six apartments on the upper floor. The building has housed numerous small commercial businesses during its more than ninety-year history. It was nominated for its local significance in the area of commerce.

Lassen Hotel

Picture of property Market Avenue and First Street
Wichita (Sedgwick County)
Listed in National Register Oct 4, 1984

Architect: Richards, McCarty & Bulford Architects
Area of Significance: hotel
Architectural Style(s): Chicago; Other; Late 19th and 20th Century Revivals

The Lassen Hotel, originally constructed in 1918 with an addition in 1922, is an eleven-story, red brick and terra cotta building. Named for Henry Lassen, a Wichita flour miller and an investor in the hotel, it is a combination of Commercial and Second Renaissance Revival styles. At the time of its construction, the hotel was the first high-rise in Wichita as well as the tallest building. Many notable people were guests of the hotel including William Jennings Bryan, Vice President Charles Curtis, John Phillips Sousa, Sergei Rachmaninoff, Knute Rockne, Jack Dempsey, Will Rogers, Rudolf Valentino, Charles Lindbergh, and Amelia Earhart. In 1930, the hotel owned and operated Wichita's oldest radio station, KFH that stood for the "Kansas Finest Hotel". The Lassen Hotel was nominated for its contribution to the development of commerce and for its architecture.

Lewelling, Governor L. D., House

Picture of property 1245 N. Broadway
Wichita (Sedgwick County)
Listed in National Register Jun 8, 2005

Architect: Not listed
Area of Significance: multiple dwelling
Architectural Style(s): Colonial Revival

Lorenzo D. Lewelling and his family lived in this Wichita house during his brief tenure as the Governor of Kansas. He was nominated by the Populist party of Kansas to run for governor in 1892. He was elected in November and inaugurated as governor in January 1893 at the beginning of a turbulent legislative session known as the "legislative war of 1893." Disputes between the Republicans and Populists about leadership in the House went all the way to the Kansas Supreme Court. Although eventually resolved in favor of the Republicans, the dispute marred Lewelling's tenure as governor, and he was not reelected in 1894. He served in the State Senate in 1896 and was later appointed to the Board of Railroad Commissioners in 1897. This two-and-a-half-story, wood-frame house features a foursquare form with a mix of Colonial Revival, Queen Anne, and Shingle styles. It was nominated to the National Register for its association with Lewelling and its late nineteenth-century architecture.

Linwood Park Greenhouse and Maintenance Building

Picture of property 1700 S. Hydraulic Street
Wichita (Sedgwick County)
Listed in National Register Apr 16, 2008

Architect: Lord & Burnham/WPA; FERA
Area of Significance: agricultural outbuilding
Architectural Style(s): Colonial Revival
Thematic Nomination: New Deal-era Resources of Kansas

Located in the northwest corner of Linwood Park, the Linwood Park Greenhouse and Maintenance Building were constructed in 1935 as part of the New Deal-era Works Progress Administration (WPA). These are the only extant New Deal buildings in the park. Architects Lord and Burnham of Irvington, New York, designed the greenhouse, but it is not known who designed the maintenance building. Both buildings are brick and feature Colonial Revival architecture. They were nominated to the National Register as part of the "New Deal-Era Resources of Kansas" multiple property listing.

Linwood Place Historic District

Picture of property 2002-2156 S Hydraulic Ave; 2001-2157 S Kansas Ave; 2021-2187 S Minneapolis Ave; 2101-2282 S Minnesota Ave; 1902-1964 E Stafford Ct; 1902-1908 E Hodson St.
Wichita (Sedgwick County)
Listed in National Register Dec 3, 2013

Architect: Garvey, R. H. and Willard
Area of Significance: domestic
Architectural Style(s): Colonial Revival
Thematic Nomination: Residential Resources of Wichita, Sedgwick County, KS, 1870-1957

The Linwood Place Historic District is a 40-acre residential neighborhood on Wichita's south side near the city's aircraft-related industrial area, and it includes 90 fourplex buildings, a maintenance shop, and four unrelated and non-contributing buildings. The complex was developed by Ray Garvey and his son Willard of Builders, Incorporated. The firm specialized in constructing affordable housing in Wichita during the booming post-World War II years. They closely followed the requirements mandated by the Federal Housing Administration that involved appropriate location, access to commercial services, access to bus and automobile routes, local zoning and siting requirements, and street design. The district was nominated as part of the Residential Resource of Wichita, 1870-1957 and Historic Residential Suburbs in the United States, 1830-1960 multiple property nominations for its local significance in the areas of community planning and architecture.

Long, Chester I., House

Picture of property 3401 East Second
Wichita (Sedgwick County)
Listed in National Register Jul 10, 1978

Architect: Unknown
Area of Significance: single dwelling
Architectural Style(s): Classical Revival

Nominated for its association with attorney and politician Chester I. Long, this house was built by Hardy Solomon in 1887 as a large Queen Anne farmhouse. After returning to Kansas at the end of his senate term, Long purchased the property in 1909 and began enlarging the two-and-one-half-story house. The alterations included enclosing porches and adding rooms to accommodate the family's main social functions. A prominent lawyer, Long had an extensive practice and divided his time between Kansas and Washington, D.C. with numerous appearances before the U.S. Supreme Court. He was elected in 1925 as president of the American Bar Association, and in 1932 became the chair of the commission to revise Kansas statutes. Long lived in this house until his death in 1934.

4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12

New Search