Jump to Navigation

Residential Resources of Wichita, Sedgwick County, KS, 1870-1957

Thematic Nomination and Multiple Property Documentation
National Register of Historic Places

Sedgwick County

This Multiple Property Documentation Form (MPDF) is based on previous surveys of Wichita's historic residential neighborhoods identified as Midtown, Riverside, Delano, Friends, McAdams, Dunbar, Fairmount, and College Hill. Approximately 12,000 residential buildings have been surveyed identifying house types, architectural styles, architects, and builders. Although several historic neighborhoods have yet to be surveyed, they share a commonality of development history that is evident in their architectural styles and house types. The MPDF utilizes the 1960 Wichita City Limit as the geographic boundary. The document provides two historic contexts about single-family and multi-family residential development from 1870 to 1957. Associated property types include residential historic districts, single-family residences, and multi-family residences.


Associated Properties