Jump to Navigation

Kansas Law Enforcement Memorial - Advisory Committee

K.S.A. 75-2251 established a 10 member advisory committee to oversee activities related to the Kansas Law Enforcement Officers Memorial.  Current committee members are:

Ken McGovern
Special Agent, Investigations
Attorney General Derek Schmidt 
120 SW 10th Ave., 2nd Floor 
Topeka, Kansas 66612
Phone: 785-368-6697
Email: ken.mcgovern@ag.ks.gov


Kansas Fraternal Order of Police



Kansas Association of Chiefs of Police



Mr. Ed Pavey (Director Emeritus) 
Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center
Kansas Peace Officers Association
919 Greenfield St
Valley Center, KS 67147
Phone: 316-250-8878
Email: epavey@cox.net


Lt. J. L. Riedel
Kansas Highway Patrol
Kansas State Troopers Association
2019 E. Iron
Salina, KS
Phone: 785-827-3065
Email: jriedel@ks.gov


Lt. Candice Brashears
Col. Herman Jones, Superintendent
Kansas Highway Patrol
122 SW 7th
Topeka, KS 66603
Phone: 785-296-6800
Email: candice.brashears@ks.gov


Kirk Thompson, Director
Kansas Bureau of Investigation
1620 SW Tyler
Topeka KS 66612-1837
Phone: 785-296-8200
Email: kirk.thompson@kbi.state.ks.us


Mr. Michael Church, Senior Archivist 
Executive Director Jennie Chinn
Kansas Historical Society
6425 SW 6th Avenue
Topeka KS 66615-1099
Phone: 785-272-8681 Ext. 301
Email: michael.church@ks.gov


Doug Woods, Director
Jeff Zmuda, Secretary
Kansas Department of Corrections
714 SW Jackson, Suite 300
Topeka, KS 66603 
Phone: 785-393-4165
Email: doug.woods@ks.gov 


Sheriff Jeff Herrig, Jefferson County Sheriff                                                                                  Kansas Sheriffs Association
1360 Walnut
Oskaloosa KS 66056
Phone: 785-863-2765
Email: jherrig@jeffersoncountykssheriff.com


Memorial Committee General Counsel
Ms. Sarah Shipman, Deputy Attorney General
Office of Attorney General Derek Schmidt
120 SW 10th Ave. 2nd Floor
Topeka, KS 66612
Phone: 785-296-0684
Email: sarah.shipman@ag.ks.gov