Jump to Navigation

Staff Directory

Kansas Historical Society staff members 2023

By Division or Program
Executive Director | State Historic Preservation Officer | Administration | Cultural Resources | Museum and Education | State Archives | Programs
Kansas Historical Foundation (Kansas State Historical Society, Inc.

General Offices

Kansas Historical Society Administration
785-272-8681, ext. 243

- General questions

kshs.information@ks.gov
Cultural Resources - Historic Preservation Historic Preservation
785-272-8681, ext. 240

- Historic building preservation questions

kshs.shpo@ks.gov
 
Kansas Museum of History

Kansas Museum of History
785-272-8681, ext. 415

- Museum questions
kshs.museum@ks.gov

- Item donations to the Museum
kshs.donations@ks.gov

- Museum tours
kshs.education@ks.gov

Museum Store Kansas Historical Foundation
785-272-8681, ext. 209

- Membership, retail, donor questions

membership@kshistory.org
 
Kansas State Capitol Kansas State Capitol Visitor Center
785-296-3966

- Capitol tours

kshs.capitol@ks.gov
Research Room Research Assistance
785-272-8681, ext. 117

- Questions for research

kshs.reference@ks.gov
 
Website Webmaster
785-272-8681, ext. 243

- Questions about website

kshs.webmaster@ks.gov
 

 

Executive Director/State Historic Preservation Officer
________________________________________________________

Patrick Zollner

Patrick Zollner
Executive Director
785-272-8681, ext. 202



patrick.zollner@ks.gov

 

 
 
Caryn Kramer Caryn Kramer
Executive Assistant
785-272-8681, ext. 204

caryn.kramer@ks.gov
 

 

Administration Division
________________________________________________________

Matthew Chappell Matthew Chappell
Director, Administration Division
785-272-8681, ext. 207

- Human resources
- Fiscal

matthew.chappell@ks.gov
 
 
Communications    
Bobbie Athon Bobbie Athon
Director of Communications/Public Information Officer II
785-272-8681, ext. 262

- Public information office
- Communications
- Website content
- Marketing

bobbie.athon@ks.gov
Brenda Kipp Brenda Kipp
Content Creator
785-272-8681, ext. 250

- Publications and social media content research/writer

brenda.l.kipp@ks.gov
 
Ashley Wunder Ashley Wunder
Evaluation and Engagement Manager
785-272-8681, ext. 263

- Managing editor, Zephyr - Audience analysis

ashley.wunder@ks.gov
 
 
Fiscal    
Mark Cole Mark Cole
Accountant
785-272-8681, ext. 208

- Accounting

mark.cole@ks.gov
Brenda Reynoldson Brenda Reynoldson
Accounting Specialist
785-272-8681, ext. 220

- Accounts payable
- Tax credit clerk

brenda.reynoldson@ks.gov
 
Lara Williams Lara Williams
Procurement Officer
785-272-8681, ext. 172

- Purchasing
- Stockroom

lara.williams@ks.gov
 
 
Front Desk    
Mary Beavers Mary Beavers
Administrative Assistant (Afternoon)
785-272-8681, ext. 243

- Reception

mary.beavers@ks.gov
Gill Schawo Gill Schawo
Administrative Assistant (Morning)
785-272-8681, ext. 243

- Reception

gill.schawo@ks.gov
 
IT    
Eric Cole Eric Cole
Technology Support Consultant
785-272-8681, ext. 242

- IT systems                      - Land survey

eric.cole@ks.gov
Christine Desmuke Christine Desmuke
Database Administrator
785-272-8681, ext. 265

- Databases

christine.desmuke@ks.gov
 
Maintenance    
Larry Eicher Larry Eicher
Custodial Specialist
785-272-8681, ext. 175

- Maintenance

kshs.information@ks.gov
Parker Jackson Parker Jackson
Custodial Specialist
785-272-8681, ext. 175

- Maintenance and repair

kshs.information@ks.gov
 
Joe Krivenko Joe Krivenko
Grounds/Custodial Supervisor
785-272-8681, ext. 175

- Buildings and grounds maintenance

joe.krivenko@ks.gov
Ron Mabrey Ron Mabrey
General Maintenance Repair Technician
785-272-8681, ext. 175

- Maintenance

ronnie.mabrey@ks.gov
 
Christopher Pugh Christopher Pugh
Facilities Specialist, Governor's Residence, Kansas Historical Society
785-272-8681, ext. 456
(Cell) 785-250-2010
- Building systems

chris.pugh@ks.gov
Penny Shoulders Penny Shoulders
Custodial Specialist
785-272-8681, ext. 175

- Facilities

kshs.information@ks.gov
 
Dayton StillDayton Still
Custodial Specialist
785-272-8681, ext. 175

- Facilities

kshs.information@ks.gov
Doug Wadsworth Doug Wadsworth
Physical Plant Supervisor
785-272-8681, ext. 412
Pager 785-357-9721

- Physical plant

doug.wadsworth@ks.gov
 
Cedar Crest    
Laurie Buhler Laurie Buhler
Residence Manager
Cedar Crest
785-296-3636

- Governor's residence

laurie.buhler@ks.gov

 

 

 

Cultural Resources Division
________________________________________________________

Katrina Ringler Katrina Ringler
Division Director
Deputy State Historic Preservation Officer
785-272-8681, ext. 217

- Supervising preservation office
- Certified Local Governments
- Historic Preservation Fund

katrina.ringler@ks.gov
 
 
Archeology    
Nikki Klarmann Nikki Klarmann, PhD
State Archeologist
785-272-8681, ext. 269

- Unmarked burials
- Kansas Antiquities Act
- Archeology site protection

nikki.klarmann@ks.gov
 
 
Barb Crable Barb Crable
Contract Archeologist
785-272-8681, ext. 266

- Archeology

barbara.crable@ks.gov
Melinda Dome Melinda Dome
Archeology Administrative Officer
785-272-8681, ext. 258

- Geographic Information Systems (GIS)
- Contract Archeology Program

melinda.dome@ks.gov
 
Christine Garst Anna Romans
NAGPRA Coordinator
785-272-8681, ext. 153

- Native American Graves Repatriation (NAGPRA) projects

anna.romans@ks.gov
 
 
Historic Preservation Office    
Mallory Aye Mallory Aye
Tax Credit Reviewer
785-272-8681, ext. 215

- Historic tax credits

mallory.aye@ks.gov
Shelby Beltz Shelby Beltz
SHPO Archeologist
785-272-8681, ext. 219

- Review & Compliance projects

shelby.beltz@ks.gov
 
Robert Elder Robert Elder
Review and Compliance Coordinator
785-272-8681, ext. 229

- Notice of Intent
- Section 106
- State Preservation Law

robert.elder@ks.gov
Bethany Falvey Bethany Falvey
Subgrants Manager
785-272-8681, ext. 226

- Subgrants

bethany.falvey@ks.gov
 
Jamee Fiore Krivenko Jamee Fiore Krivenko
National Register Coordinator
785-272-8681, ext. 216

- National and State Registers
- Kansas Historic Resources Inventory

jamee.fiore.krivenko@ks.gov
Kristen Johnson Kristen Johnston
Historic Tax Credit Supervisor
785-272-8681, ext. 213

- Historic tax credits

kristen.johnston@ks.gov
 
Lauren Jones Lauren Jones
National Register Reviewer
785-272-8681, ext. 214

- Architectural Survey
- Kansas Historic Resources Inventory
- Preservation Outreach

lauren.jones@ks.gov
Christopher Leitch Christopher Leitch
Tax Credit Reviewer
785-272-8681, ext. 222
- Historic tax credits

christopher.leitch@ks.gov
 
Megan MaizeMegan Maize
SHPO Survey and Outreach Coordinator
785-272-8681, ext. 225

- Survey and outreach

megan.maize@ks.gov
Gwen Perney Gwen Perney
Federal Grants Manager/CLG Coordinator
785-272-8681, ext. 228
- Federal preservation grants
- Local preservation programs
gwen.perney@ks.gov
 
State Historic Sites    
Ron VanBuskirkRon VanBuskirk
Administrative Specialist
785-272-8681, ext. 240

- Office manager

ron.vanbuskirk@ks.gov
 
 
State Historic Sites    
Tiffany Grassmuck Tiffany Grassmuck
Historic Sites Supervisor
785-272-8681, ext. 210

- State-owned Historic Sites

tiffany.grassmuck@ks.gov
Amanda Pope

Amanda Pope
Administrative Assistant
785-272-8681, ext. 240

- State-owned Historic Sites

amanda.pope@ks.gov

 

 
Ray Stockman Ray Stockman
Architect
785-272-8681, ext. 212

- State-owned Historic Sites
- Architectural planning

ray.stockman@ks.gov
 
 
Betty Bouray Betty Bouray
Site Administrator
Pawnee Indian Museum State Historic Site, Republic
785-748-2205

- Site administration
- Programs/Tours

betty.bouray@ks.gov
Mark Brooks Mark Brooks
Site Administrator
Kaw Mission and Last Chance Store State Historic Site, Council Grove
620-307-2754

- Site administration
- Programs/Tours

mark.brooks@ks.gov
 
Adam Conkey Adam Conkey
Assistant Site Administrator
Fort Hays State Historic Site, Hays
785-625-6812

- Site administration
- Programs/Tours

adam.conkey@ks.gov
Lori DeWinkler Lori DeWinkler
Site Administrator
Red Rocks State Historic Site, Emporia
620-342-2800

- Site administration
- Programs/Tours

kshs.redrocks@ks.gov
 
Jim Dick Jim Dick
Co-Site Administrator
Mine Creek Civil War Battlefield State Historic Site, Pleasanton
913-270-4217

- Site administration
- Programs/Tours

jim.dick@ks.gov
Alison Hamilton Alison Hamilton
Co-Site Administrator
Mine Creek Civil War Battlefield State Historic Site, Pleasanton
913-270-4217

- Site administration
- Programs/Tours

alison.hamilton@ks.gov
 
Mary Knapp Mary Knapp
Site Administrator
First Territorial Capitol State Historic Site,
Fort Riley
785-784-5535

- Site administration
- Programs/Tours

kshs.firstterritorial@ks.gov
Tim Rues Tim Rues
Site Administrator
Constitution Hall State Historic Site, Lecompton
785-887-6520

- Site administration
- Programs/Tours

tim.rues@ks.gov
 
Eric Smallwood Eric Smallwood
Grinter Place State Historic Site, Kansas City
913-299-0373

- Site administration
- Programs/Tours

kshs.grinter@ks.gov
Megan Sothan Megan Sothan
Site Administrator
Hollenberg Pony Express Station State Historic Site, Hanover
785-337-2635

- Site administration
- Programs/Tours

megan.sothan@ks.gov
 
Roxanne Wooden Roxanne Wooden
Assistant Site Administrator
Kaw Mission and Last Chance Store State Historic Site, Council Grove
620-307-2754

- Programs/Tours

roxanne.wooden@ks.gov
Tammy Younger Tammy Younger
Site Administrator
Fort Hays State Historic Site, Hays
785-625-6812

- Site administration
- Programs/Tours

tammy.younger@ks.gov

Museum and Education Division
________________________________________________________

Sarah Bell Sarah Bell, PhD
Director, Museum and Education Division
785-272-8681, ext. 417


sarah.bell@ks.gov
 
 
Joy Brennan Joy Brennan
Program Coordinator
785-272-8681, ext. 415

- Museum tours
- Public programs
- History & Environmental Fair

joy.brennan@ks.gov
Boone Dodson Boone Dodson
Museum Curator
785-272-8681, ext. 435

- Museum special projects

boone.dodson@ks.gov
 
Anne Dorcey Anne Dorcey
Exhibits Designer
785-272-8681, ext. 404

- Exhibits design and construction

anne.dorcey@ks.gov
Rebecca Duncan Rebecca Duncan
Museum Teacher
785-272-8681, ext. 415

- Museum tour guide

kshs.education@ks.gov
 
Sheryl Fields Sheryl Fields
Capitol Tour Guide
Kansas State Capitol
785-296-3966

- Capitol tour guide

kshs.capitol@ks.gov
Nate Forsberg Nate Forsberg
Exhibit Director
785-272-8681, ext. 403

- Exhibit design and construction

nate.forsberg@ks.gov
 
Penny Guy Penny Guy
Capitol Tour Guide
Kansas State Capitol
785-296-3966

- Capitol tour guide

kshs.capitol@ks.gov
Tracie Haddock Tracie Haddock
Capitol Tour Guide
Kansas State Capitol
785-296-3966

- Capitol tour guide

kshs.capitol@ks.gov
 
Norman Hodge Norman Hodge
Capitol Tour Guide
Kansas State Capitol
785-296-3966

- Capitol tour guide

kshs.capitol@ks.gov
Trae Johnson Trae Johnson
Assistant Director of Education and Outreach
785-272-8681, ext. 418

- Museum tours
- Traveling resource trunks

trae.johnson@ks.gov
 
Haley Kelley Haley Kelley
Capitol Visitor Center Assistant Coordinator
Kansas State Capitol
785-296-3966

- Capitol Visitor Center

haley.kelley@ks.gov
Beth Kensinger Beth Kensinger
Capitol Tour Guide
Kansas State Capitol
785-296-3966

- Capitol tour guide

kshs.capitol@ks.gov
 
Roberta Moore-Meinzer Roberta Moore-Meinzer
Museum Teacher
785-272-8681, ext. 415

- Museum tour guide

kshs.education@ks.gov
Donna Rae Pearson Donna Rae Pearson
Museum Curator
785-272-8681, ext. 436

donna.rae.pearson@ks.gov
 
Ashley Pheigaru Ashley Pheigaru
Museum and Education Assistant
785-272-8681, ext. 416

ashley.pheigaru@ks.gov
Emily Piland Emily Piland
Museum Teacher
785-272-8681, ext. 415

- Museum tour guide

kshs.education@ks.gov
 
Matt RenickMatt Renick
Museum Registrar
785-272-8681, ext. 408

- Registration

matt.renick@ks.gov
Patricia Smith Patricia Smith
Capitol Tour Guide
Kansas State Capitol
785-296-3966

- Capitol tour guide

kshs.capitol@ks.gov
 
Darren Wade Darren Wade
Capitol Visitor Center Coordinator
Kansas State Capitol
785-296-3966

- Capitol tours

darren.wade@ks.gov
Anna Woods Anna Woods
Museum Curator
785-272-8681, ext. 452

- Museum curatorial

anna.woods@ks.gov
Nikaela Zimmerman Nikaela Zimmerman
Collections Manager
785-272-8681, ext. 407

- Museum collection

nikaela.zimmerman@ks.gov
 

State Archives Division
________________________________________________________

 

Michael Church Michael Church
Division Director
785-272-8681, ext. 271

- Digital collections

michael.church@ks.gov
Megan Burton

Megan Burton
State Archivist
785-272-8681, ext. 272

- Reference
- Records management
- KORA Requests

megan.burton@ks.gov

 
Olivia Banzet Olivia Banzet
Collections Archivist
785-272-8681, ext. 283

olivia.banzet@ks.gov
Jessie Blom Jessie Blom
Government Records Archivist
785-272-8681, ext. 286

jessie.blom@ks.gov
 
Emily Bodenhamer Emily Bodenhamer
Library Assistant
785-272-8681, ext. 141

emily.bodenhamer@ks.gov
Teresa Coble Teresa Coble
Acquisitions Archivist
785-272-8681, ext. 282

- Acquisitions

teresa.coble@ks.gov
 
Eric Cole Eric Cole
Land Survey Coordinator
785-272-8681, ext. 242

- Land survey

eric.cole@ks.gov
Amber Draper Amber Draper
Reference Archivist
785-272-8681, ext. 288

- Reference desk

amber.draper@ks.gov
 
Benjamin Epps Benjamin Epps
Photographer
785-272-8681, ext. 409

- Photo studio

benjamin.epps@ks.gov
Susan Forbes Susan Forbes
Reference Librarian
785-272-8681, ext. 253

- Reference

susan.forbes@ks.gov
 
Darrell Garwood Darrell Garwood
Archives Specialist
785-272-8681, ext. 301



darrell.garwood@ks.gov
Adam Hodge Adam Hodge, PhD
Head of Reference
785-272-8681, ext. 284

- Reference

adam.hodge@ks.gov
 
Lisa Keys Lisa Keys
Digital Archivist
785-272-8681, ext. 132

- Digital collections

lisa.keys@ks.gov
Cordell Moats Cordell Moats
Digital Archivist
785-272-8681, ext. 280

- Digital collections

cordell.moats@ks.gov
 
Katie Roberts Katie Roberts
Kansas Historic Records Advisory Board Coordinator
785-272-8681, ext. 274

- KSHRAB coordination

katie.roberts@ks.gov
Dylan Sweyko-Kuhlman Dylan Sweyko-Kuhlman
Senior Archivist for Collections
785-272-8681, ext. 274

- Digital resources

dylan.sweyko-kuhlman@ks.gov
 
Jason Thomason Jason Thomason
Collections Archivist
785-272-8681, ext. 285

jason.thomason@ks.gov
Jennifer Thompson Jennifer Thompson
Image Tech
785-272-8681, ext. 142

jennifer.thompson@ks.gov
 
Marc Tsuno Marc Tsuno
Archives Specialist
785-272-8681, ext. 301

marc.tsuno@ks.gov
 
 

By Program
________________________________________________________

Accounting Ext. 208
Archeology Ext. 258
Building Maintenance Ext. 456
Communications Ext. 262
IT Ext. 241
Membership Ext. 209
Museum After Hours Ext. 415
National and State Register Ext. 216
Reference Ext. 117
Retail Ext. 209
State Historic Preservation Office Ext. 217
School Tours: Kansas Museum of History - Topeka Ext. 415
School Tours: Kansas State Capitol - Topeka 785-296-3966
School Tours: Kansas State Historic Sites Site Administrators
Security Ext. 421
________________________________________________________